“With enough butter, anything is good.” – Julia Child

If you have read almost any other post on this blog, you know that I love buter. So I was pleased to see this article in the Wall Street Journal last week about the rise of artisanal butters, particularly in fine restaurants in China. If you open just about any French cookbook, you will inevitably come across some sort of warning about how butter, flour, milk, etc. from the United States is not the same as the stuff in France. While I often find this sort of preaching about the superiority of French ingredients annoying, I can’t help admitting that they have a point.

I have very strong feelings about butter. I love eating it. I hate when restaurants serve butter too cold; it shouldn’t be difficult to spread. And, at the risk of sounding like a snob, I am feverishly fascinated by tasting different kinds of butter. I will not pretend that I have an over-developed palate that can taste the “terroir” of butters of different origins, but I do find it an interesting experiment. I couldn’t tell you exactly why, but different butters DO taste different, and I want to taste them all.

A butter list seems a bit excessive in the same vein of a bottled water list, but, like food-blogger Celine Flamain says in the WSJ piece, “The cuisine of a chef reflects his personality, and that holds true even of small details like what butter he chooses to serve. Chefs should look to promote small traditional and artisanal producers.” And I am always looking for ways to promote the consumption of butter.

{read the WSJ article}

