{image from New Jersey Bride}

Dear readers, I am in Miami for the week helping out at Art Basel Miami Beach. While the focus of the fair is obviously the art, there are also a lot of parties to attend, hors d’oeuvres to sample, and drinks to sip. My favorite snack of the week thus far has been a “salmon pop” served at the UBS party in the new Frank Gehry building on Wednesday evening. These were composed of a lollipop stick in a ball of goat cheese wrapped in smoked salmon and topped with a dollop of glistening caviar. I had an indecent number of these yummy treats, but I am still left wanting more. I plan to try making them myself back home, but knowing me they “pops” will probably turn into ugly rolls of salmon, goat cheese, and roe that I sloppily shove in my face. But food, after all, is meant for eating, so I shall be a very happy, if somewhat undignified, camper.

Will Cotton, Taffy Forest, 2007

I will make another food-related Art Basel post once the week has ended and I’m back in New York, but in the mean time, I thought I would post some images from Will Cotton, the New York-based artist who frequently incorporates food into his works (and the mastermind behind Katy Perry’s “California Gurls” music video). More pictures after the jump!

Will Cotton, Ribbon Candy Portrait, 2008

Will Cotton, Candy Curls, 2005

Katy Perty “California Gurls”

