This is the lovely tree living outside my window in the South Street Seaport. I LOVE Christmas. It is my favorite time of the year. I love the sparkles and the excitement and the food. I don’t care if it’s generated completely by the advertising and greeting card industries; everyone gets whipped into a frenzy of happy anticipation and blind optimism, into a big blur of candy canes and gingerbread houses and tinsel. I love every glittering, stupid moment of it.

This weekend we’re getting a Christmas tree, hosting a dinner party, cooking the first Sunday family dinner in weeks, and starting the Christmas cookie baking spree, so get ready for lots of seasonal posts next week. In the mean time, curl up with a mug of salted hot chocolate, nibble on a peppermint macaron, and start enjoying the holiday season. Have a great weekend and I’ll be back on Monday!

