I have never considered myself a country person, but reading The Bucolic Plague made me want to pack up my city life and move to a farm. The book chronicles two Manhattan men who purchase a country mansion and farm estate in upstate New York on a whim. As author Josh Kilmer-Purcell and his partner Dr. Brent transform themselves into farm boys, they encounter all manner of obstacles, including the sudden acquisition of 88 goats, canning an entire season of produce in one short weekend, and how to pay for a 60 acre property in the middle of a global recession.

One of the best parts about their story is their constant desire to feed themselves with the fruits of their farm. For Thanksgiving, they kill one of their own turkeys and provide the rest of the food with the products of their carefully maintained garden. Through the winter they feast on canned tomatos, pickled onions, and a cellar full of potatoes. In the Summer they create magnificent and colorful salads from their backyard. I can’t imagine a more satisfying meal than one you have entirely produced yourself.

Josh and Brent now have a television show on Planet Green (also available in the iTunes store). I really encourage everyone to read this book and watch the show. It will make you want to drop whatever you’re doing, run away from your computer, and go dig around in the dirt. I’m sure I have a very romanticized view of the work needed to run a farm, but that work somehow seems so much more gratifying when it results in beautiful dinner tables and full bellies. While I can’t raise goats and plow a field now, I am already planning a windowsill garden so I can at least nibble on some small vegetables and herbs while I dream about my future as a foodie farmer.

