This girl loves a burger. I really mean it. More than the perfect medium-rare filet mignon, more than the mouth-watering herb and mustard crusted rack of lamb, more than Joel Robuchon’s succulent quail (you know we’re serious now), the idea of the juicy, meaty cheeseburger makes me certain that I could never ever be a vegetarian, not even for a day. And being the lucky girl I am, I live in a city of unbelievable burgers. I feel that it is a personal calling to try as many of them as possible, from the small but excellently dressed Wall Street Burger, to the standard-of-all-comparisons from Shake Shack, to the positively divine DB Burger at DB Bistro Modern.

A side-effect of all the burger splendor the city has to offer is that I will never complete my task of eating every burger I want. It’s difficult, because, as you might imagine, when it comes to food and lust I have very little restraint. So when I do encounter a new burger, it is always a happy day for me.

{image by Melissa Hom for New York Magazine}

Enter Carmine Club Cafe and their absurdly delicious Pork Burger. Last week after a night of drinking on an empty stomach (it’s a crime that some mistakes are so fun), a burger was just what the doctor ordered. Having heard about the various virtues of the Pork Burger multiple times, I decided it was time to bite the porcine bullet. Luckily, Carmine Club Cafe has a near perfect location in the West Village (um, hello it’s across the street, literally, from Unoppressive Non-Imperialist Bargain Books, what more do you want?), so I happily trekked out through post-snow storm Manhattan.

I’ll cut to the chase: the burger was everything I hoped it would be. A thick pork patty, smeared with smoked gouda, topped with a slice of farm-raised bacon, and dressed with smoked pepper mayo. Add the pile of salt ‘n’ vinegar fries, and it was a perfect lunch. The bun was great, maintaining structural integrity without being too bready. The cheese was rich and gooey and my only complaint is that I could have had more of it. The pork was juicy, the bacon nice and crisp. In short, if you are craving a burger, head over to Carmine Street.

Check out Carmine Club Cafe and follow them on Facebook and Twitter.

